Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

ERC – Microhistory – Killing Patton by Bill O’Reilly

on May 4, 2015

Right now, I am listening to Killing Patton:  The Strange Death of World War II’s Most Audacious General on audio CD from the library. This has been an interesting look at WWII, and many of the key players involved. Killing Patton is not just about Patton himself. It is also about the many soldiers who were in battle, political leaders, and of course the evil one himself… Hitler. I do not have any feelings whatsoever about Bill O’Reilly. I do not love him, or hate him, or give him much thought. I do, however, love his books, and think he is a wonderful narrator for them. I enjoy listening to his powerful voice, and find it soothing. There are so many little facts that I did not know about WWII that I am discovering in this book. Faux pas that were made; political secrets; and the good, bad, and ugly of war. While Patton is remembered as a great and amazing General, he made several blunders due to his outspoken and gruff manner that made him difficult to work with. This, plus the mystery surrounding his death makes for a great story. I am only about a 1/3 the way finished, so I will give my review soon, but so far, I am loving this new book by Bill O’Reilly.

Leave a Reply

