Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

on November 4, 2015

For today’s #BlogLikeCrazy post I will be discussing one of the many books I am reading which is The Good Girl by Mary Kubica. This book has been compared, like most of the books today, to Gone Girl and is said to be “the next Gone Girl.” I hate that. I really do. I hate when every single book that comes out that happens to be a mystery or a thriller is compared to that one anomaly. It is like when The Girl on the Train came out. I had to ask people in my book club, “So… what was supposed to be the twist here?” I did not think that book was all that great, and certainly not worth the hype. But, on with The Good Girl.

In this book we are treated to different characters voicing the various chapters in the book. This was a tad confusing for me at first because I am listening on audio through audible, and I had to go back and listen again to figure out what was going on. The chapters also go between “before” and “after” some event, but we are not told what that event is exactly just yet.

In The Good Girl, we meet Colin who has followed a young woman named Mia and he knows everything about her. He is supposed to kidnap her and deliver her to someone who is going to hold her possibly for ransom, since her family is incredibly wealthy, but he also knows there could be other dangers involved. At the last possible moment, he decides to keep her for himself and retreats to a cabin far from their Chicago home in rural Minnesota.

We also meet Gabe, the detective on the case for missing Mia, and Eve, Mia’s mother. Through their voices we get to know more about Mia, what she was like before she was taken, what happened in days she was missing, and how she appears when she returns home. We also see how a family can begin to crumble and fall apart when tragedy strikes.

So far I am really enjoying this book. It has not been a book where I have been shocked, surprised, or found really any twists, but I hear the ending will blow your mind. I will be finishing this one today, and I cannot wait to see how it ends. So far I give this book 3.5 stars. I recommend it, but not enthusiastically so far.

What did you think about The Good Girl?

Leave a Reply

