Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

Serial Killer Thriller ~ The Mephisto Club by Tess Gerristen ~ @bookdout #eclecticreader

on February 22, 2016

I cannot believe I forgot to post my full review for The Mephisto Club by Tess Gerristen! I finished this book on 2/11/2016. I LOVED this book. Yes, it warranted all capital letters! In this novel, we find Rizzoli and Isles in a mystery that is centered around what appears to be a possible satanic ritual. Could that be what it was, or is it just a serial killer looking to throw investigators off the trail?

When the first victim is found, she is brutally murdered, and by all accounts, it seems that there may be satanic group involvement. There are strange markings and symbols left around the home, along with other items placed around the home that seem to be more than just a coincidence.  Right away, Rizzoli knows that this case is not going to be like their others. This one will be different, and it will have a special meaning of some kind. Add to that a mysterious phone call to Rizzoli’s “enemy,” Dr. Joyce O’Donnell, a forensic psychiatrist known to defend serial killers, and we have the makings of a strange tale indeed.

When the killer hits one of the police department’s own, the question remains, was this a kill from convenience or planned murder?

While we are tracing a killer back in Boston, we also meet a young woman traveling throughout Italy trying to run from her own demon. Is it real? Or is it just her imagination?

The Mephisto Club is a wonderful story that brings to light religion, history, and stories you may or may not be aware of from the past. I know for me, it made me want to do even more research into my own religion of Christianity. This was a wonderful book and I could not put it down. I cannot wait to read the next in the series, and I can only hope that it is half as good as this one was! I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves a good thriller, and give it five shiny gold stars! **Note:  This book is very graphic, and if that bothers you, you may want to pass on this one.**

Leave a Reply

