Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

The Heir by Kiera Cass

on May 6, 2016

I remember not that long ago, less a year now, going on a long vacation with my lovely family. We went to Duck, NC and stayed in a beautiful beach house and did nothing that week. No cramming in sights, no running from here to there. We watched TV, relaxed on the beach, and thanks to this clever lady, flew kites out on the sand. Let me go ahead right now and tell you that my father is a kite wizard! He got his Spiderman kite up in the air, high as it would go and tied to a lifeguard stand before we even had ours put together. And, mine mostly wobbled when it did fly. That man never ceases to amaze me. But, what I also do remember about that trip was being able to read. It was over a 12 hour trip to the beach and 12 hours back. I read The Selection series by Kiera Cass on the way. I thought it was a fun little group because I had watched The Bachelor many years ago, and found it similar. To say it is like The Hunger Games, is a HUGE stretch, but it was still fun. I listened on audio and read along on my kindle, and I was sad when it was over. I was very excited when a new book, The Heir came out. It was not part of the original “trilogy,” but that was okay. I tried to read it, but I got discouraged when I did not immediately fall in love with it, and I DNF. I am now picking it up again, after I got the audio on sale from audible, and I love it. I love the narrator, and while Eadlyn is not a loveable character, many of the guys are. I already know who I like as my favorite, but I am not sure if it is possible. I think the narrator is doing a fine job with the accents such as the men and boys.

So far I am really enjoying this book much more the second time around. I cannot wait to pick up The Crown, and will let you know how this one goes when I finish. Also, look for my review with SPOILERS on Gasp! The Book Spoiler! I know this was not really a review yet, but I am only about halfway in. I should finish tonight, so I will give my review just as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

