Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

The Silent Girl by Tess Gerritsen

on July 22, 2016

I just finished The Silent Girl by Tess Gerritsen this past weekend. It was a good read, but not my favorite in this series. I enjoyed the Chinese culture part, but did not enjoy the entire execution.

In this novel of the Rizzoli and Isles series, a mystery woman is found on a rooftop in Chinatown after her amputated arm is discovered by some kids on a Boston ghost tour. Rizzoli cannot determine who this woman is, only that she is dressed all in black, the cuts to her body were clean and precise, and on her body are silver hairs that are not from any human. While trying to uncover the identity, Rizzoli meets two women who are familiar with the martial arts, and have backgrounds with swords, not unlike the one that could have made the cuts on the victim’s body. When the victim is discovered to be an assassin, Rizzoli must find out who she was after.

While working the case, Maura and Rizzoli make a chilling discovery. This case is related to a horrific crime that took place in a Chinese restaurant 19 year prior. There was a bloody massacre thought to be lead by a cook leading to a mass murder and suicide. While most believe this to be the case, someone does not. They are sending messages and obituaries every year to the victim’s families, and has taken out a full page ad proclaiming the cook’s innocence. Who is this person? What is the goal? Why are they doing this?

Along with that, there appear to be a group of missing girls. One is the daughter of the teacher in the martial arts studio who went missing 19 years ago as well.

Soon there is a vigilante on the loose who is out to not only save lives, but deliver justice as well.

Will Rizzoli be able to clear the cook of murder/suicide? And will she ever know the reason for the assassins in black? And most importantly, how do a group of missing girls tie into all of this, or does it?

Tess Gerritsen has done it again with a great page turner. I enjoyed the characters, the story, the culture that I came to know, and the storyline. But I had a problem with this book. Something just did not click for me. While I love this series, this was my least favorite so far. And I think I knew it would be. I had been putting it off for a long time and dreaded reading this one. I think it was because when it initially came out, so many people did not like it. The reviews I saw were not all great, and that affected how I saw the book. I am glad I read it, but it was not the best. I give this book 3.5, rounded up to 4, stars.

Leave a Reply

