Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

Back Track, Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

on April 1, 2017

I first read this book way back in the spring of 2015. This was a book that stayed with me for a long time, and I feel that says something when you can create a work that makes you think long after reading. I am going to share when I first read the book. I may have even listened on audio, adding to the magic.

I found myself connecting to this book on several levels for various reasons that I do not care to go into. Did rumors go around about me that I did “bad things?” No, I was actually a “goody-goody.” But life happens and just because you may not have experienced troubling things in your teens, that does not mean that life does not happen. It keeps moving, and emotions keep evolving as well. Jay Asher did a wonderful job of taking a serious subject like suicide and give it a new little twist. What better way to get to know someone and what led to their decision than from their own mouths after the fact? This YA novel is full of surprises, tragic coincidences, and issues that one person should not have to face on their own. This was a sad tale, but in the end there manages to be a glimmer of hope. Where one life ended way too soon, there may be a chance for one to be rescued. I give this YA novel 4 gold stars.

I am posting this review after reading many moons ago due to the long awaited series on Netflix. Right now, I can hardly keep my eyes open, but I want to keep watching. I noticed that it lists the series as “Season 1.” After the original storyline, if it is a success will they continue? What would season 2 consist of? Where do we go from here? Will it follow the aftermath? Will Asher create a new piece that explores more of this world, or will it revolve around a different situation? I am intrigued. While I want to keep watching and learn more, I think I will have to give in and got to sleep. It has been a very long day, and I am so tired.

Watch book fans if you have Netflix. Let me know what you think about the series! Oh! And the author, Jay Asher will be at The Alabama Book Festival! It will be in Montgomery, AL. Come and join us!

Leave a Reply

