Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

on June 13, 2017

Right now I am reading a book by an author who is new to me. Clare Mackintosh. I happened upon this author by chance. I am a HUGE (yes, it deserved all capital letters) fan of audible. One time they messaged me and wanted to give me a “badge” for purchasing over 100 books and asked if I wanted to brag to my friends. No. No, I did not want to brag. I was embarrassed in less than a year I had accumulated more books than I should have. All that money spent. Geeze.

One of my favorite times of year is when audible has their Two for One, where you are able to get two books for one credit. Yea!!! This is like Christmas for me. I always stock up. Recently they had several books that I was interested in, and I saw I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh. I read the reviews on Goodreads, and saw that many people who have opinions I trust, read the book and really enjoyed it. This made me happy, I liked the blurb, and I thought it sounded like there was promise for a love affair.

For me, the first part of the book is incredibly slow. Yes, the initial subject matter is difficult, the death of a child, but I just felt like the story trudged along. I do not have children, only furbabies, so this did not affect me like friends who read the same thing.

When we first begin the book, a young mother is walking home with her son Jacob. He is excited and like usual, is ready to race up to their home. However, when she lets go of his hand, he darts into the street, and is hit by a car. The car does not stop, making this a hit-and-run, and a mother’s life is forever changed.

After a year of blaming herself for the death of Jacob, Jenna moves to a beachside Welsh town. She has a small cottage where she can slowly pick up the pieces and try to recover. She begins to do so with the help of a puppy she has rescued and the local veterinarian that has seemed to taken a fancy with her. Jenna slowly begins to open up and heal and even start a business for herself. Once a great artist who loved sculpture, she is unable to do the craft she had loved so dearly. Now, she finds herself using her photography skills to bring in money she uses to live her modest life.

Just when you think this book, which was described as a thriller, has turned into more of a romance. BAM! There is a complete 180, and you may be left just a tad confused. What do I mean? I literally had to reread the last sentence of Part I twice, and the beginning of Part II twice as well. This was one of those rare times when I was completely caught off guard and taken by surprise. This was a welcomed shock, as it seems that so many books are predictable. The ending may be a little less heart racing after so many books that have something similar, but I cannot wait to find out. I have not finished this book yet. I have about 25% left to go, but I will be reading all night if I have to in order to get this one under my belt. I will read, watch Pretty Little Liars (priorities, people), and then read again. That is if I do not devour it before PLL starts.

I cannot recommend this book enough, and I look forward to more by this author. Well, I say that now. We will see how it ends. If the ending is as strong as the middle has been…. 5 Shiny Gold Stars!

3 responses to “I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

  1. Hi there! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

