Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

Big Rock by Lauren Blakely

on June 20, 2017

I noticed I got a few followers lately, and while I read mainly mysteries, I will read the occasional contemporary romance, which is code for hot, hot, hot. So… people who do not like those types of books, avert your eyes. Everyone else, read on!

I finished earrrly this morning Big Rock by Lauren Blakely and narrated on audio by Sebastian York. I both read the book and listened on audio. This was a creative story, but due to the main character, a guy named Spencer, being a playboy, cocky, wealthy, and knows it, he sounds a lot like Drew from Emma Chase’s Tangled series. Listen. I adore Sebastian York. I love that deep, gruff (but smooth) voice of his. But this seemed like the same character. With that being said, I was so excited to hear him narrate another book for me. (Only me guys, you are just reaping the benefits.)

In Big Rock, Spencer’s father owns several highly sought after jewelry stores, Katherine’s, named after his wife. He build the business from the ground up, and because of it, he is a self-made man, wealthy, and is now hoping to retire and travel the world with the wife he loves so dearly.

Spencer is also a self-made man, not having to depend on daddy’s money. He created a very successful dating app, and sold it for a great profit. He also now co-owns several bars around town called The Lucky Spot with his friend from college, Charlotte. They are the best of friends, and have a great collaboration and work relationship.

When Spencer’s father finds a family oriented business man who wants to purchase the company, since Spencer and his sister do not want to take over, the gentleman insinuates that Spencer is not wholesome enough. In an effort to help his father seal his contract and deal, Spencer convinces Charlotte to pretend to be his fiancé for a week. To make it seem believable, he even convinces his family.

Spencer and Charlotte set clear rules to ensure there are not complicated or hurt feelings in the end. They are great friends, and after all, what could possibly go wrong?

I loved this story because it seemed to be able to tell a steamy romance without being ridiculous like so many others. The story was cute and fun, and made you laugh out loud. Yes, there was plenty of language and detailed scenes, but if you are familiar with this genre, you will not be surprised.

I gave this book 5 shiny gold stars simply due to the adorable story and the fact that I actually cared about the characters. I saw where there was a second about his friend coming out after that one, but I have not checked it out. I would love to hear more from Spencer and Charlotte, however! If this is your thing, go out and get it! You will be so happy you did!

I will endorse this as a cute, naughty beach read, perfect for lounging by the pool. Watch out, however, you may need to hit the pool, and not just from the heat of the sun!

Leave a Reply

