Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

The Scarecrow by Michael Connelly

on September 28, 2017

I finally broke down and started the sequel to The Poet by Michael Connelly. The Poet came out in 1996, and I read the novel 2014. I had already read several books by Michael Connelly the previous couple of years, he was a new author to me until around the end of 2011 – 2012. I loved the Bosch series, and I happened upon this one by chance. I loved that book so much. I found it exciting and fresh, despite being eight years old at the time. I felt like it had a nice little twist that someone might not see coming. The Scarecrow, which is considered the sequel came out in 2009. Well… let me say that again. The Scarecrow is a sequel to The Poet, while The Narrows, which came out in 2004, was said to be the “official” sequel to The Poet. Good and confused now? Great. You are right there with me.

I have wanted to read this book for a long time, however, I wanted to read The Narrows, Blood Word, and A Darkness More Than Night, which feature Jack McEvoy and/or Rachel Walling, and ties up loose ends from The Poet. See how this can all be confusing. I would like to read The Narrows, and it is up next on my list, so that is slightly out of order. The whole “this is the sequel,” and “this is the ‘official’ sequel,” confused me, and I just gave in to temptation and selected this novel.

I am still reading the book, and I am not finished yet, so I will not post my review yet. I will tell you, however, what I think so far. With McEvoy, a journalist at the Los Angeles Times, and just let go due to budget cuts, he stumbles upon a story that could radically change his career. While The Poet (the serial killer) defined him as a journalist, and established him as a published author, this could be just as big.

Without going into too many details, I am shocked at McEvoy. As a journalist who works the crime beat, I would be suspicious of anyone and everything. So when events begin to unfold in his life, and strange things begin to occur to him after discovering this amazing story lead and puzzle, I would have immediately made some sort of connection. I feel like he was clueless for too long. Example. I once got a box in the mail that I did not know what it was, where it came from, or who sent it. I was ready to call the police thinking it was a bomb. While on the phone with my mom, I BRAVELY opened the box to discover it was filled with books from an author. I had signed up with a program to distribute the books to individuals, introduce her writing to those who may not know her, and hopefully, become a new reader. This was something I volunteered for, and forgot, and yet I was worried a bomber was going to try and get me. I am a normal, everyday person. If I can be panicked over something that simple, why wasn’t McEvoy concerned more than the average Joe when he has a possible serial killer and possible identity being stolen? Come on, now. Am I giving you more credit than you deserve?

This book has been good so far, and I am enjoying the plot. Already, something occurred that I did not see happening right away. While it was a thought, there were other signs that pointed in different directions. Gotta love those red herrings!

This is my first Connelly book in a long time. I would say, I probably have not read any of his work in almost 3 years. It was like being put together with an old buddy I have not seen in a while. I just slipped into his reading effortlessly.

I am over halfway finished with The Scarecrow, and I expect to finish the book this weekend. I will be sure and post when I get my final review in. I highly recommend this read to yall who love a good mystery. There has not been any graphic gore, blood, and/or guts. Just a good mystery/thriller. There is murder, though, but it is not like what Karin Slaughter or Tess Gerritsen might have in their books.

Leave a Reply

