Turn That Page Right Now

What Book's Up, Buttercup?

Big Summer by Jennifer Weiner

on April 30, 2020

I am reading Big Summer by Jennifer Weiner, release date: May 5, 2020, and it is amazing. Right now I relate to the main character who was told by one particular grandmother that if you go to bed hungry you are winning. Let me set the scene. There is the main character, Daphne, who after years of struggling with her body image and weight, learns to accept herself and body positivity. When someone comes for a visit she learns as a kid that she is “big” and that it is a bad thing. I remember thinking I was “big” or bigger than the other kids, while looking back at photos I was insane. We are taught as young girls and up that we should look a certain way, behave a certain way, do things, talk, have opinions a certain way. There is a point when someone in her life says that very thing that if you are hungry you are winning. I remember reading that I would go to bed hungry sometimes and that was okay. That happened to me within the past year or so. But that is not true. You can have a healthy snack and be okay. Big Summer is something that every person can relate to, no matter what the label in your pants, shirt, or dress says. There is something that we are all struggling with, even if it never shows. This is just an example that people can see on the outside. Yall have to read this book when it comes out, I cannot wait to see what happens!


Leave a comment